Sprout lover

By robharris35

Sunny morning

Welcome home sunflowers in my kitchen window from my good friend Elizabeth.

Went to the supermarket to 'restock' and then had to catch a taxi back home, like my nan.

Minor confrontation with the taxi driver and I was momentarily wishing I was in Cambodia where the subtleties and inanities of life are lost in language and cultural barriers.

Taxi Driver reluctantly helps to load shopping into boot
Me: Morley Drive please
Taxi Driver: Are there many taxis coming by today?
Me: I've seen a couple
Taxi Driver: No disrespect but on a Sunday you want a decent fare and all I seem to have had is luggage and shoppers
Me (restraining from making a sarcastic comment about how amazing it is that a suitcase can hail a taxi): well if you don't want the fares you don't have to take them do you
Taxi Driver fails to gauge tone and proceeds to chortle for the rest of the journey about some bypassers who were annoyed that he didn't let them cross.

My windows need a good clean. Noted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.