Sleepy Cherryblossom

By CherryBee

Filmhouse window.

Maggie and I were at the Cameo today to see Legend, the biopic about the Kray twins. It's a film I've been really looking forward to seeing, the trailers have looked great and I like Tom Hardy so was intrigued to see him play both Reggie and Ronnie. I actually found it quite disappointing though, the main focus of the film was the love story between Reggie and his wife-to-be Frances with the twins relationship somewhat taking a back seat to this. Hardy is always a pleasure to watch and his performance as Reggie was interesting, sympathetic and nuanced but his Ronnie felt clumsy and like a caricature of the man - his psychopathy translating as slurred speech and crazy eyes - more of a parody than a real person. Having said that it was still enjoyable, a lot of it was very funny (not sure how intentional that was, both Maggie and I quite a dark sense of humour!) and the sets and wardrobe were gorgeous in all their 60's glory, but in amongst the violence, the glamour and the east end gangster culture it just didn't quite ring true.

After the cinema we walked down Lothian Rd and into town stopping at Café Nero, Waterstone's and then along to M+S. But my walking was slow going today and my foot really hurts, so I was quite relieved when Mags was happy to leave me to get a bus back down to Canonmills.

I'm getting there though, managed 5000 steps today. I think I'll probably be staying in tomorrow though!


Steps - 5002

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.