Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Don't Panic...

Beeuala:  Don't turn around right now...
Abeegail:  Why not?
B:  Because I don't think we are alone anymore...
A:  WHAT?
B:  Don't panic.  Just keep calmly drinking and try to pretend like nothing's wrong...
A:  OMG, what is that thing???
B:  I don't know...just don't make eye contact.

Just another imaginary conversation taking place in my head and now out there in the open for everyone to see...

I was stalking hummingbirds in the garden today when I caught a flash of black and orange on the buddleia bush.  Imagine my delight to find two perfectly fresh Monarch butterflies!  They stayed for about 30 minutes, feeding constantly before they both soared high up into the sky and flew away - no doubt towards Mexico.  Hope they fly safe.  

I was going to post a photo of one of the monarchs with wings wide open, but I kind of liked the humourous dynamic of this one with the two busy little bumble bees who looked to me like they were trying to totally ignore the glamorous butterfly.  I've posted a tiny monarch cat, a beautifully posed monarch on buddleia and a hummer in the zinnia patch on Flickr.  Click HERE if you'd like to have a look.

Meanwhile, things in the Monarch Nursery are progressing.  Three more caterpillars are having their final rest before forming their chrysalises, with a fourth (the recent rescue from the garden) not far behind.  The smallest cat is only about 1/2 inch long and if he doesn't hurry up, he's going to be too late to survive a migration.  He's indoors where the temperature is more constant in the hopes that he'll mature quickly.  He is currently resting so I think he's about to molt - that's good. 

Hubs left bright and early this morning.  And, as is always the case when we are separated, I am feeling a little blue.  But, it's only a week. And the weather looks like it is going to be perfect for walking and enjoying nature.  

Thanks for dropping by...

TTFN,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.