Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Yukking it up on Golden Rod

Strangely, this is the first bald-faced hornet I've seen this year.  Usually I spot a few around out garden, but this has been a strange year for insects.  This big guy (barely qualifies for TinyTuesday!) was busy gathering pollen on a patch of goldenrod at a nearby trail I walked this morning.  He was so intent on his mission that he didn't care at all that I was poking my macro lens right into his interesting face.  I guess maybe I'm lucky I've never been stung by one of these things - I imagine it hurts.  

Allergies still beating me up today but I decided to just drug myself up and get out anyway.  If nothing else, photography always proves to be a great distraction!  Today being no exception.  

Meanwhile, around the yard, the hummers continue to feed, fight and entertain.  And the wild poke weed that grows around the edges of our property continues to draw interesting birds in for the berries.  

I posted four other pics on Flickr, Starting HERE with a ruffled hummer.  The final shot in the series, a close up of a carpenter bee was my second choice for a blip - but I know I'll see more of these bees whereas I'm not sure about the hornet.  Plus, I really like this shot of the hornet - sometimes that's the only criteria I use.  

Have already started looking through the TinyTuesday entries and, once again, you are going to make my job very, very hard!  There are some outstanding photos - please do take a few minutes to check them out.  I will post my picks on Thursday, so stay tuned to this space.  

Thanks for all the love on my hummingbird in the buddleia yesterday!  Last I looked, the little flyer was on the front page of Pops - so thank you again.  

Cheers, people.
Debbi

PS:  and a little afternoon excitement:  two year-first warblers in the yard! 

Black-throated blue warbler - YardBird #50

and

Northern Parula (warbler) - YardBird #51

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.