Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Monday...

An uninspired title, but I am just not feeling overly creative today.  Been dealing with mega-allergies for the last week and today was especially bad.  In fact, I'd planned to head out on one of my favorite trails after having a nice long phone chat with my parents, but my head was throbbing so I opted for some indoors time.  However, not before I got a few shots of the hummies who are still roaring around the yard in full attack-mode.

Besides, the hummies wanted to make sure that you all remember that tomorrow is Tiny Tuesday and the tag is TT68!

There is a big dead limb dangling from one of our hickory trees which is what gave this photo the interesting background - I rather like it.  And for those of you who don't have hummingbirds in your garden, this gives you some perspective on their tiny size.  The buddleia bloom is smaller than average.

My last monarch caterpillar successfully transformed into a chrysalis this afternoon - so now all I have to do is wait.  I expect that all 22 chrysalids will eclose into butterflies within the next two weeks, some as soon as next week if my calculations are correct.  It certainly has been fun.  I posted a collage picture on Flickr, showing before and after pupation.  The after photo was taken just minutes after he/she pupated so you can still see some of it's caterpillar striping.  By now, it's a solid shiny green orb with gold trimmings.  

In addition to the fractious hummingbirds, the chipmunks are also in full pre-winter mode.  For chipmunks, this means hoarding vast quantities of food and trying to guard their territory against raiding chippies.  Quite comical to watch them chase each other madly to and fro, sometimes with cheeks filled to the brim.  Silly things.

I want to thank everyone who took time to share their memories of 9-11 on my blip yesterday.  It was comforting to me to read your comments and recollections of that dreadful day - it reminds me that, as unspeakably horribly as it was, it brought a certain unity in its wake.  Thank you.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.