Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Green Dude

After my having my teeth cleaned this morning, I decided to visit a favorite spot for wildlife.  It was great fun and I saw a nice assortment of birds, amphibians, turtles and insects.  And also some enormous fish, the location being a hatchery.  I decided on this Green Frog (yes, what an original name) just because I like frogs and I don't often get to photograph them.  I used a lot of lens for this because you just can't get near these frogs without them screaming and jumping into the water.  Probably should have named them Sissy Frogs...

Hubs didn't get home until after midnight.  The hospital kept MIL for hours running tests and then they had to wait several hours for the return ambulance to take her back.  The results were inconclusive and she's still in pain so Hubs will talk to her primary doc tomorrow and determine what can be done.  Happily she seems to be a bit better today.  
I'm off to meet my naturalist group in the morning for what may be my last walk of the year.  There is another walk scheduled for next week but I don't think I can make it.  We'll see.  

I released 8 monarchs today - 7 males and 1 female, making my total for the year 88...so far.  A ninth eclosed, but too late in the day to be released so he'll go tomorrow.  I sent each one on its way in memory of someone.  And now, my list of names has dwindled to six, so I may do some releases in group releases.  We'll see. It's not too late to send me the names of people you want to release a monarch in memory of.    

Two hummers in the garden this morning, but I wasn't quick enough to catch them before I had to head to the dentist.  Opportunities are running out...

Happy Tuesday, people.
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.