DUNSTON STAITHS

Dunston Staiths are open every Sunday but I have never been on a visit.  There was more publicity recently due to the Heritage Open Days and I decided to stir myself and go.

Dunston Staiths on the River Tyne is believed to be the largest timber structure in Europe - at its height 5.5m tonnes of coal a year was taken by rail from the Durham coalfields and loaded from the Staiths onto ships waiting on the river which transported coal around the British Isles and Internationally.

The North Eastern Railway Company opened Dunston Staiths in 1893 to meet the growing demand to export coal and to save the rail journey to the docks at the mouth of the river. A second set of Staiths was built adjoining the first in 1903 and a tidal basin dug out, providing six berths in all, where colliers could be loaded at all states of the tide.

The Staiths fell into disrepair during the latter half of the 20th century, as the coal industry declined. It was fully restored in the 1980’s with the gantries repaired and redecorated, but in a non-operational condition. Used as a focal point for the National Garden Festival held in Gateshead in 1990, the public could then walk along the top of the structure and view the chutes and other machinery used in loading the ships.  It was also a performance area and art gallery. Whenever I visited The Garden Festival I always took the opportunity to take a walk on The Staiths.

A fire in 2003 seriously damaged the woodwork destroying a section which detached the eastern end.  Tyne and Wear Building Preservation Trust now own the stucture and have restored the West end to enable public access again.

Apart from seeing the Staiths another reason to visit is the wildlife. Ecologically, the Tyne is considered to be the third most important tidal area in the North East. When dredging stopped, the lagoon silted up rapidly to create mudflats providing an important feeding area for wintering and migrant wading birds. The detoxification of the River Tyne and the nearby River Team has encouraged the establishment of increasingly interesting natural habitats around the Staiths, including an important Saltmarsh Garden, a rare resource in the urban environment and of significant conservation interest.  The Staiths structure currently provides an undisturbed roosting area for a range of bird species including grey heron, lapwing and redshank.

I have included some extra shots which show the mudflats.  Some herons arrived and then I watched as the tide came in.  When the water got too deep for wading the birds moved on to the Staiths to roost so I have included some shots of this.  I spotted some cormorants up there too. 

I love the River Tyne down by the Quayside in Newcastle/ Gateshead but this area in Dunston comes a close second.  Its so lovely there.  Neil is lucky enough to live very near to the Staiths -  he can see them from his bedroom window - but he is totally uninterested.

On my way to catch the bus home I passed by Dunston Exelsior Club - made famous as it was frequented on many ( many ) occasions by Paul Gascoigne  - " Gazza "  - who grew up in Dunston. See it in my extra photos.

The first bus that came was going to The Metrocentre so I decided to go there and have a mooch around the shops for a while before going home.

Neil has been here all day. He has had a really relaxing day - he was ready for one.

As you can see from my shots we had lovely weather today - such a change from yesterday.

I have also included as an extra shot a little post it note Neil left for me this morning.  My original note was to remind me to check the times of the number 43 bus to get to Dunston.  They only run once an hour on Sundays.  Neil's note did make me chuckle.

Steps today - 8,614

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.