Spotting waterbirds

It was back to the lakes for a Sunday afternoon stroll. That's three visits over the past few days, but when the skies are clear and the sun shining there are few places I know within handy reach which are more relaxing.
To walk a complete circuit of the biggest of the three lakes at Testwood at leisurely pace takes me just under half an hour.
Okay, I know I ought to be able to walk a mile quicker than that, but who's in a hurry when the scenery is as delightful as this.
There's usually an opportunity to stop and take in the various species of waterbirds which are here in abundance.  I always look out for the grey heron in the adjoining wetlands, which quickly dry out when there's little rain.  And equally are re-instated once it rains.
I guess that's part of the attraction, of a static environment which is in fact changing all the time according to the pattern of the weather and time of year.
The heron appears to be a permanent resident and so do the egrets.
Most people I meet while walking the lakes are exercising dogs, yet a good few, like me, are there for the sheer enjoyment of the place, with a sprinkling of runners as well.
All part of a working reservoir, crucial to the water supply of parts of Southampton and the Isle of Wight, maybe. But it's also one of the most relaxing natural leisure areas around, yet bordered by a motorway on one side, and an industrial estate on the other.
I have little doubt I will be back there this coming week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.