A hobby with a view

It’s at places like this that I wish that I had taken up golf as a hobby. Splendid courses like this are in abundance and you can be spoiled for choice when you are into the sport.
Sadly though, it has never been my game. Oh yes, I have managed the occasional pitch and putt but not at any time have I succumbed to playing the game proper.
I have friends and relatives who are well skilled at the game and the challenge it presents.  Somehow though, I seemed to have missed out.  I always used to say that I didn’t really have time to spend an hour or two on the golf course, yet in recent times, just how I choose to spend leisure time is really down to me. And I can no longer say that I cannot afford the time.
So although when I walked much of the perimeter of the Cams Hall estate at Fareham, I did feel a trifle envious of what I had missed,  especially  with views like this overlooking the estuary of the river, and Fareham Creek.
Then again, over the years I have visited a good many well known golf clubs here and abroad and  their associated courses. I was even a member of one club for a while, albeit a social member rather than as a player, and I still stop off there for the occasional drink.
But on my walk round much of the perimeter of this course, I had to admit to a tinge of regret that I had never taken up the sport itself.  Nevertheless I  guess the exercise I gained while walking around the course was stimulating, and hopefully could count towards burning calories, albeit at relatively leisurely pace.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.