mef13

By mef13

Recreation Time

Visits to the local Rec in days of my youth, or even younger, usually meant kicking a ball about, and if you were lucky there might be a swing.
So while I am full of admiration and pride that my local village community can provide facilities like this for a children’s playground, although maybe tinged with a little bit of envy.
Perhaps we lived quite some distance from the local recreation ground in my home town so visits were not that frequent.  But I o remember making use of the town football team’s goalposts which were a permanent fixture for our kickabout.
I know that some years later when I took my own daughter to local playgrounds, there were a few more  things to do. But we had a swing in the garden in any event, so there was not the need to visit the playground that often.
Now that I appreciate what our local parish council has provided only a stone’s through from our front door, I can think back and sigh “if only . . .”

Perhaps I could sneak out in the dead of night, and snatch a ride on the swing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.