WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Dull

I said yesterday that Puycelsi is a pretty village.  When I got up this morning (Sunday, I'm backblipping) it was looking its best in bright sunshine, with crowds of swallows swooping round the church tower. After two hours' rehearsing in the church, the clouds had closed in again. I went for a little drive to get some petrol and this is the one photo I took, out of the car window. Then it was back to the church for more rehearsing before coming out to spots of rain.

The concert itself was OK, but I remembered why I don't normally participate in these scratch concerts. It's frustrating and a bit stressful to sing something in public that you haven't rehearsed properly. You know you could sing it better, and the mistakes are glaring to you, if not to the public. I got a bit lost in the Handel that  I hadn't learned beforehand. But the soloists were good, it was well attended (the church was full) and there was thunderous applause at the end. The funds  raised go towards restoration of the very pretty church interior, which I didn't take a single photo of. So here's a blog post with some photos which also tells you a bit about the choir. The extra is a photo of a typical Puycelsi street.

The concert finished at eight; with a long drive home ahead I didn't fancy hanging around, so I set off promptly. There were massed clouds and frequent dramatic stabs of lightning in the distance, but luckily the storm was off to the east and I had a dry and uneventful drive home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.