It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

The end of the season

The end of the season finale was meant to be last week but for unforeseen circumstances I couldn't do the planned event and ended up doing the Leeds Triathlon instead, a 1.5km swim, 44km bike and a 9.7km run. The additional week was a good thing as I've had a few niggles and was lacking zip after my last race in Aberfeldy.

It was an early start, from Rosemary's brother and s-in-law who fortunately lived 6km from the start line. I left their house at 6:15 am and pedaled off to Roundhay Park. I was one of the first in  transition, popped my headphones in and put my hood up whilst I got organised. I prefer being in my own wee world without any distractions before a race.

The swim was a two lap open-water affair and I set off in the watery melee at 8:10am. The far side of the course gave me the most direct line to the buoy and meant I only had people on my right hand side. It was the fastest yet quietest line........ Unfortunately an arm landed a left hook into my face, about 200m in and my goggles filled up with water! Hey hum.....no stopping to fix them.

I exited the water in a good position, but was worried about the long barefoot run as I have an injured metatarsal and was worried that the impact would do damage...... All was fine though and I was quickly through transition and off on my bike.

The course was a fast and enjoyable one. I pushed as hard as I dared by was mindful to stay relaxed and save my legs a bit for the run. With about 8km to go on the bike, the course got quite hilly and it started to hurt. "Back off" I said to myself and was pleased to see I was still managing to pass people who were pushing far too big gears. My bike time was decidedly average but I couldn't have done better on the day! It certainly requires hard work over the winter.

The run was a mega hard one, mainly on grass on the extremely rolling terrain of Roundhey Park. It was a 3 lap affair with a very steep banking to ascend on each. The great bit was that I was running well and passing far more people than were passing me. 

It was hurting on the last lap but I knew only 10 minutes of my season remained and I pushed harder, focusing on maintaining good form. It was great to cross the finishing line, and I made straight for the box with jaffa cakes in it! A very satisfactory end to my season.

It just so happened that I was passing the very fine Layne's on the way to the train station and saw Katie, a barista that used to work in NTP in Manchester. I popped my head round the door to say hello and the harlot convinced me to purchase a slice of Victoria sponge and a latte! Gutted! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.