It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

1/2 the Distance but double the quality!

Even though 5 of us were packed into a tiny bunkhouse room, I had slept perfectly throughout the night. The first of my roommates arose at 4:45am, the morning of the big race. It was the Scottish Middle Distance Triathlon Champs in the Perthshire town of Aberfeldy.

I got up and headed to the loo! Tom Kiely just beat me to it. The reason I mention his name is because he took 9 bloody minutes to do his thang! I was ready to tie a knot, therefore I'm naming and shaming! After that, I got my kit on, popped my headphones in and did a last minute kit check. Breakfast was a quick affair, with Rosemary judging my mood well.  

Chris and I then headed down to the race start and I got straight to setting up my transition area. Headphones were in and the hood was up. This is my way of closing the world off to focus on what I need to. 

Although I'm an average athlete with no hope in hell of winning, I get very upset if I don't execute my race well. First error! I switched on my bike GPS to see "low battery". Damn! It had definitely been fully charged! I'd be flying blind for the bike leg but I rate 'feel' more than data so was only pissed off about making an error rather than the consequence of it.  

After what seemed like an age, the swim began and my age group was off for a shortened triangular lap in Loch Tay. The water was too cold as per the regulations for the full 1900m although I thought it was perfectly fine. Loch Tay isn't known for it's balmy water, so learning to swim in cold water is part of the game! If ye cannae cut it.....do something more sanitised!

There was the usual kicking and punching at the race start but nothing much of note happened. In fact I was just getting going and starting to pass people by the dozen when it was time to get out. Transition was ok, albeit with slight time loss whilst I stuffed a chocolate and blueberry rice cake in my gob. The exit road was a bit hairy as there were plenty athletes heading down it at the same time. A girl ahead of me was fiddling with her bike computer and wiggling about all over the road. "Eyes on the road, both hands on the bars" I called in my most dictatorial coaching voice. She looked annoyed but did as instructed.

We were soon on the first long climb, up the side of Schiehallion, a very popular mountain for hill walkers but less popular for those who are rubbish climbers on a time trial bike. My plan was not to go into the red zone at any stage of the 90km bike leg, so I was happy to let people fly past whilst hyperventilating. I stayed chilled down the other side of the mountain, not too worried about those passing me. It was wonderful to get down to the shores of the stunning Loch Rannoch and to be able to put the power down along its rolling roads. I remember a chat that I had with adventure racing world champ Tom Gibbs. "Take in your surroundings and enjoy them when racing. You'll relax and go faster”. 
His guiding words worked. I was moved by the beauty of a stunning part of the world. I was having fun.

After circumnavigating the Loch, it was time to climb over the mountain again and I found myself passing more people than were passing me. My TT bike isn't really designed for climbing so it was hard not to red line it. Near the top, I passed a big chap with the biggest calf muscles I've ever seen. "This is f**king horrible" he said.  I pointed to a mountain tarn, full of reeds with the late morning sun sparkling in its waters. "F**cking beautiful" he said and we both smiled.  It was soon into the fast descent down towards Loch Tay which I went down gingerly. Hitting the flat road section, I felt a bit stiff and had a little pain in my hip. The time trial position was now quite hard to maintain so I had to concentrate to hold it.
 
It was great to get back to Aberfeldy and transition 2. I was pleased because I had got there feeling relatively fresh for the half-marathon. Bike shoes off, helmet off, trainers on, rice cake in hand and I was off. The legs were feeling good despite having to go up a sharp hill in the first km. Living in a hilly village had prepared me for this as I typically do my off-the-bike run sessions in training up a much tougher hill.

My first few km’s were a little fast so I backed off a little into 5min per km pace which most of my recent training has focussed on. It wasn't easy by any stretch of the imagination but it felt comfortable. The road was a very rolling one and shaded by tall mature trees. I was in the zone, tapping out my km's spot on pace, apart from for the longer uphill sections. I was passing far more people than were passing me....picking them off one-by-one. Near the turn I saw Jason 'Baggers' Baggaley heading in the opposite direction. We were old club mates who were at a similar level many years ago. In fact I'd beaten him in my previous long distance race, IM Switzerland, 14 years ago but there was no chance I'd catch him today. I took a gel at the next feed station but it was horrible. Sheesh! I should brought a spare in my pocket. Not to worry.....only 11km to go and my legs were fine and my humour was intact.
I was now in a friendly competition with another chap who would pass me on uphill sections and I'd pass him on the downhill bits. This was fun....coming into the final 5km of a 1/2 Iron distance event with good legs. Yeah, I was hurting, a blister had formed on my little toe and my left calf was tightening but I wasn't slowing. I could see the houses on the outskirts of Aberfeldy and upped the pace. The bridge into town was a steep traditional highland one slowed me a little and I found the chap I thought I had dropped was on my heels again. Bloody hell.......I was going to have to race him.

We rounded a cone in the road with about 400m to the finishing line and he kicked hard. I couldn't go with him but didn't slow down either. It was great to get into the finishing chute and I heard the familiar voice of "c'mon Andy" bellowing from Rosemary. I smiled and high-fived her.  I crossed the finishing line in 5 hours 21 mins in a mid-field position and very happy.

I was 15 minutes down on target for the bike but it was far tougher than expected. My talents are far more suited to flat, non-technical courses so I wasn't too disappointed. More positive was my run which at 1:47 for a half-marathon (plus a few hundred metres extra) was perfectly executed.....which means more than victory to me!

14 years ago, I was devastated after a poor race in Switzerland and didn't race again for 11 years after that. Injury, studies and a belief that I'd done my best ever race the year before resulted in me drifting away from the sport. This weekend has told me that my goal of going sub 11 hours for an Iron Distance race is possible again. It's gonna take hard work, discipline and raising my game still further. I can't wait to try.

The weekend was great, spending it with ERC triathlon club members who were happy to accommodate a bald man wearing Man Tri kit. My recommendation of pre-race pizza a la Brownlee stylee was welcomed, especially as Aberfeldy has an amazing pizza shop and a cafe which is run by a Scottish Barista Champ.


Iron Man branded events are far more popular but that's only because of marketing spin to generate money for hedge fund owned company. However, if you want a purist racing experience on a course which is tough and beautiful in equal measure, then Aberfeldy will exceed your expectations. There may not be as much kudos or recognition from team mates in doing this race. However, I spent less than £200 for entry fees, transport and accommodation to compete in perfectly organised race, on quiet roads and in an area recognised as one of the most stunning on these Isles, if not the earth!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.