I'm a National Trust chaffinch !

Wanting to make the most of the fine day forecast before the rain sets in again, I went down to Canons Ashby near Banbury.

It is a splendid Elizabethan manor house that has been in the Dryden family since it was built. During the Victorian period, Henry remodelled the garden and it is now being restored again according to his designs.

Following a wonderful wander through these gardens and a tour of the house, I went for a cup of tea. The Stable Tearooms have definitely been taken over by a number of very friendly birds who live in hope of some rather rich pickings. I loved his expression. Please look at him in the larger version.

Elizabethan wall paintings, uncovered in 1980

Pink poppies

Hollyhocks and bees
And, yes, I know it's a foxglove :-)

Speckled wood (the only butterfly in this gorgeous garden and this was in the car park)

Another tearoom hopeful

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.