kwchas

By kwchas

Runcorn Widnes Bridge

I went over to meet a friend in Widnes today so stopped on the West Bank for a quick blip. 

It is a fascinating spot (if you can work out how to get there) and this photo was taken by the old toll booth for the transporter bridge.  This bridge was demolished in 1961 and replaced by the Silver Jubilee bridge pictured here. Behind the road bridge is the Britannia or Ethelfleda railway bridge which was built in 1868. They are currently building a new road bridge about half a mile away which is causing all sorts of traffic problems as I discover every time I try to drive back from Widnes.

I've gone for the obvious picture today because I liked the sun shining on the bridge and the dark sky but there is lots of nice detail here so hopefully I will return for another shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.