Maisiebeth

By Maisiebeth

100 mph

Well that was an experience I will never forget! You don't realise just how fast 100mph is until you are suspended from a wire, head first and face down hurtling towards imminent doom! But heavens, what a complete and utter blast! 
The picture is from the top of the zip and, although I hate to vandalise a picture, the little white dot the far side of the lake is where we ended up.
For those made of sterner stuff, this is a link to a very short video that was made of the zip. I am the one with my arms out trying to fly! The other is Beth.
Zip video
The extra photo shows someone else about to be launched, so you get a real idea of the height we were at.
We did 2 zips, the first quite a small one, just 30 seconds, 45mph just to get you used to everything. Then we had a trip up the side of the mountain in a very rickety trailer to take us to the top.
The big zip was actually quite scary. It is a very weird feeling to be travelling at that speed. You are well strapped in but being face down gives a bit of a feeling of helplessness plus the wind is of course very strong against your face. I will admit to shaking a bit once I got off but not sure if that was adrenaline or fear! But having said all that, would recommend it to anyone looking for a thrill.
The pictures aren't brilliant as I could only take my little point and shoot with me, so please excuse quality.
Also huge thanks for everyone who helped put my waterfall picture very briefly on page 1 of popular. First time that's happened
Dramatic and Dangerous places to hurl yourself off of!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.