Plus ça change...

By SooB

Hill of Beans

Busy busy. Not a great night's sleep last night, despite all the pain relief I could find. No digging today. But there was work in the school office. CheeseLady was there for a while to handle some tricky phone calls, then she had to dash off to cheese-related duties.

Later, shopping and the dentist (tiny - no injection - filling and a good polish). I always come out of the dentist light as air - it's never really as bad as you expect, is it? (Apart from that time with the 3 hour root canal where the dentist dropped some kind of metal tooth clamp down my throat.)

Anyway, a productive afternoon saw my to-do list cleared and (finally) the big iTunes switch to another computer made. That had necessitated 36 hours of software downloading, since I had to upgrade iTunes on the new host Mac, which necessitated installing Yosemite, which - stupidly - I had not saved the install file from the last time I spent a whole day downloading it. (It will not surprise you to learn that I did not save it this time either. But as a very smart man I know says 'I never make the same mistake three times'...) Now I just have to squeeze my iMac into the messy office (two screens and four computers, plus - obviously - a fridge and a washing machine) and I can type at a desk that doesn't give me a bad back.

These beans were bought on Saturday at the market. Here they are blanched and ready for the freezer: the kids have drawn a line and demanded a day off beans. (Note to self: a kilo of beans is really a lot - next time just ask for 2 handfuls...)

Addendum: I meant to add that a large part of the reason for my not sleeping in the early part of the night (when the drugs were working and I was pain-free) was because of my book. I've been reading Kate Atkinson's 'A God in Ruins', which I was really enjoying until the new Anne Tyler (A Spool of Blue Thread) thudded into my letterbox. I made the mistake of reading the first page and was hooked. So, A God in Ruins started feeling like a chore that I had to get out of the way, right until the end when it had me reading until 1 am this morning and then in desperate tears at the unexpectedness of the ending (I haven't read the other book in the series, so my surprise is forgivable I think). It took four Archers episodes (two, repeated) before I could drop off. I love it when a book sneaks up on you like that. Despite today's consequent exhaustion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.