Plus ça change...

By SooB

Progress?

Every time the house is getting a bit civilised, the building equipment starts creeping back into the living space....

But there is forward momentum. This prop was actually put here by TallGirl in her brief moment of power and responsibility in charge of the house. The builders didn't show up at the weekend to catch up on the terrace work, but showed up unexpectedly tonight when I had to go out to pick up CarbBoy and then do a quick turnaround to the first school board meeting of the year. So I had to leave TallGirl in charge.

Turns out she is great at finding props (for which I don't even know the French word) (and which are way too heavy - I thought - for her to carry down 3 flights of stairs) but less good at preparing my famous (!) lazy-mammy-night-pasta-and-bacon dinner. But I think our builder left delighted not only with the bonus he has been promised, but also with having a proper French-speaking person to talk to.

TallGirl, meanwhile, is disappointed with her dinner performance, but delighted that our builder called her 'vous'. (That's her first ever 'vous' apart from a few inadvertent ones from me in the early days.)

Earlier, lots of French letters in the morning (way duller than it sounds), then some unwise sort of nearly digging in the afternoon; brought to a swift close by a familiar stabbing pain under my collar bone... Please don't tell the hypothetical French physio that I haven't found yet that I did digging... I might hold off until I'm done with path-building, and treehouse-building and raised bed moving to actually find a real physio... (And fingers crossed that no real-life physio blippers are tutting loudly at me right now...)

The school meeting (moving swiftly on) was ok. As usual we had moved heaven and earth to have the meeting at a time to suit a male member of the committee who showed up to about 10% of last year's meetings. And as usual he was 45 minutes late. I managed, unusually for me, to follow the extremely rapid delivery of our President and contributed some useful points. However, they seem very upset that me and Cheeselady see our time on the committee coming to an end when our kids leave the school in July. Which I can understand given that our President has no kids at the school, and our Vice-President's kid has already left. I might reconsider this.

So, in summary; lots going on, most of it good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.