fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Windmills

What's the use of a fine house if you haven't got a tolerable planet to put it on?
(Henry David Thoreau)


I actually love wind turbines - I think they are extremely elegant. These ones are fairly close to where I live, are in a very rural location, and yet I still have no objection to them. Maybe if I was closer I might find the noise annoying at times, but even while taking this picture I couldn't hear them at all.

However, I think there comes a point when there are enough! I don't know if you can see that there are distant turbines dotted all along the horizon. These are mostly at Tow Law and in the surrounding area. I'm not sure how many there are in total (I can't find a website with up-to-date info) but I'm sure there were over 20 I could see from this vantage point (not all pictured), and even then I couldn't see all of them. When I turned round and looked in the opposite direction I could see about another 9 or 10.

I am passionate about looking after our planet - our wastefulness in the west is already causing drought, floods, poverty and starvation in Africa & Asia. I want there to be sufficient resources for future generations to live on, and a tolerable climate for them. But I also hope we protect our most precious areas of countryside for future generations to enjoy.

Of course there is only one song to go with this picture. I love this version of it.

Edit: Meant to say - have back-blipped yesterday's blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.