Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Romans

Having subjected W to lots of steam trains over the last few days we followed her interests today and visited a couple of Roman sites. Firstly, the Roman Wheeldale Road across Egton High Moor from where this shot was taken, and then on to Cawthorne Roman Camp. There isn't a great deal to see at either of them but there is definitely evidence of Roman occupation at both.

Even though I spent the first twenty or so years of my life not far from here, and spent a lot of time in my teens walking around the moors of North Yorkshire, it's a long time since I spent any time here and I'd forgotten just how breathtakingly beautiful it is. Today we were walking across the top of the moor with Grouse around us and sheep grazing in the heather; we could see for probably 30 or 40 miles in each direction across moorland, down into dales and out to sea. I don't pretend for a second that my picture shows that beauty but the landscape is simply stunning.

So long as it's not raining.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.