Fancy that .... I mean hat!

I've had a lovely day today catching up with friends John (who used to be my boss almost 30 yrs ago when I worked at Lloyds Bank Dubai) and Marilyn. They are in Dubai the exact same dates as me, which is just brilliant.

We had a Lebanese lunch in Jumeirah and then a walk around where we found this amazing, antique tribal Tibetan headpiece/ hat. It truly was a thing of beauty and I did try it on. Weighed about a kilo, or more. It had semi precious stones sown onto it and the shop keeper reckoned it was about two hundred years old. We were absolutely fascinated by it. He said the turquoise was originally bluer but has changed to a greener hue. Cost, around £3,800!!! I placed it back in his safe hands and looked at other more affordable wares.

We then met up with GadgetKid and Geraldine for a quick session at Cafe Ceramique where I painted a serving platter for cupcakes. I shall definitely be blipping that when I collect it next week. I'm super excited.

Then we all went to a Salvation Army service which is held every alternate Wednesday and so GK really wanted me to go ... since our family has a long history/ legacy of serving in the Salvation Army.

Been a great first day in Dubai ... But that headpiece was definitely a big highlight for me. Never seen anything like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.