Eldritch

Last night I attended a talk on 'Emotion in the Landscape' by the photographer Huw Alban at the Peterborough Photographic Society. It was truly inspiring; he advocated thinking hard about your emotional response to a landscape, and allowing that to influence the way you captured an image. I realised that this is something I often do subconsciously, but today I tried to put his recommendations into practice.

Once again time was short, but I found half an hour to visit Thorpe Wood, not long before heavy rain arrived. I love this site, but today it felt dark and threatening, a product of the incipient decay of autumn and the brooding clouds overhead. This gnarled tree could almost be some menacing creature, and the poisonous berries of the cuckoo-pint provided a bright, but deadly, counterpoint.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.