Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

High Level Bridge

On my last visit to Newcastle I brought you the classic quayside view of five of the Tyne bridges. Today I arrived early in the evening, but managed a small detour on the way to my hotel and a late work meeting. On my visits now, I try to make the most of the smallest experiences of this city where I lived for a quarter of my life.

This is the pedestrian walkway on the western side of Robert Stephenson's High Level Bridge , built between 1847 and 1849 for the York, Newcastle and Berwick Railway. This part of the bridge is one of iconic locations for the original Get Carter movie. Often, this tunnel of steel suspended over the water feels quite dark and gloomy, but with the evening sun streaming through it was full of light, and shadows.

walking
a steel tunnel
of shadow
and light
river crossing


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.