Scratch, scratch, scratch

Every summer I have ‘scratching’ problems.  See here and here.

Over the last week or so, my scratching has been getting worse. I don’t seem to be able to go 5 mins without scratching.  Even when I’m out on my walks I have to keep stopping to have a good old scratch.

My scratching is driving Ann mad.  She keeps telling me to stop scratching but I can’t ‘cos my whole body is really itchy.  And before anyone starts thinking I’ve got fleas................... I haven’t!!!  Ann grooms me every single night and she’s never, ever found a flea on me.

Anyway, today, Ann said, ‘Molly, you can’t be very comfortable at all.  I think we should go and see the vet to see if he can make you better.’

So we went to see the vet.  He was ever such a nice vet.  He was called Johnathon and he was amazed that I was 11 years old.  He said I was a very fit, healthy little collie.  He said there were any number of things that could be making me scratch and he’s given me some tablets called ‘Apoquel’ and I have to take 3 twice a day.  Apparently they’re very fast working so Ann has to phone him on Saturday morning to let him know if they’ve worked.  Not quite sure what’s going to happen if they haven’t??!!
 I’ve already had the first three.  Ann mixed them in with my dinner and I gobbled them up without even noticing.  And I’m supposed to be intelligent???  Wonder how long it will take them to kick in and work.  I’m lying on the rug scratching as I dictate my Blip to Ann!!

And what is really annoying.......................  It cost £47.50 for the vet consultation & my tablets today which can’t be claimed on my pet insurance because it has a £50 excess fee on it.  #whomakesuptheseprices
And if anyone is interested.............  this is a photo of me on the walk back from the vets.  I’m looking a bit wet because Ann allowed me to jump in the trough on the way home, for a good old wallow.

...............She didn’t allow me to jump in the stream on the way there, because she said the vet wouldn’t want to see a wet, dirty, stinky collie??!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.