Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The Southampton Boat Show

Today I went to the Southampton Boat Show with Gavin. He is passionate about boats and sailing and I only went with him as I thought there may be some good photo opportunities there and I was hoping we could have a nice lunch together there (as you can gather, I have no interest in boats)

It is considered Britain's biggest boat show and we were really lucky with the weather today - yesterday apparently they were all huddled inside with the heating on and there were not many visitors.

We visited some beautiful sailing boats, including an Oyster 575 which almost had Gavin salivating at the thought of being inside it! I then suggested we see a catamaran, which made him start to shudder in disgust and by the time we stepped on board a stunning Princess 72 foot motor yacht he had almost broken out in hives - as you can guess, he is a very traditional mono hull sailor and anything else does not compare in his eyes! The motor yacht was like the most luxurious floating home that you could imagine, and before I got too comfortable enjoying the plush seating and oohing over the features I was whisked off the boat by Gavin.

It was a fun day seeing all those beautiful boats, although the lunch was pretty rubbish - a few take away stalls offering unexciting food and very limited seating so we had to stand to eat it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.