Lobster tales

Just a month ago I was talking of self indulgence for an evening meal, and here I am again with another tale of perceived extravagance.
Yes, lobster is on the menu again! Earlier today I offered to take my wife out for lunch; and I shouldn't have been surprised when she declined. Her mind was firmly fixed on the pair of lobsters thawing in the sink.
They were frozen and I make no excuse for that. The price offer at the local supermarket back in August was so good I felt that I could not resist a special treat - and there have been a few more similarl treats over the past four weeks.
Then last weekend, the special treat became even more acceptable as the supermarket lowered its price again. We were doing well with these creatures of the sea at a fiver a time, I thought. The second reduction halving that to £2.50 a lobster was another dimension, but irresistible.
They may  be small, they may be frozen and they most certainly are imported but there is enough edible lobster meat to enjoy, and sufficient for a reasonably generous serving.
Shame that the offer is finally over; there were no more in the cabinet in the supermarket when I called by today.
But I do have one shelf of the freezer at home completely packed with them! A few more treats yet . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.