AliV

By AliV

Rannoch Moor

 We spent the week on holiday in a lodge just outside Forres, just the 3 of us. The lodge was cute, the location was stunning (in a gorgeous fern-lined forest) and we spent today driving back. We headed off towards the a9 but after a loo stop in Kingussie decided that it was far too sunny for such a dull road. So we cut over towards the a82 for the longer, but more scenic route. 

And what a treat. The road to Roy Bridge was glorious and the road through Glen Coe was breathtaking. Although it's a route I have driven loads I always get a lump in my throat no matter what the weather is like. Partly the history, but I also think of all the tourists and others driving through for the first time and how awesome it must look to them.

On a side note my dad has only just pointed out to me that by driving past Glen Roy we just missed a feature that years ago I dragged my whole family to see when I was really into geology/geography....the parallel roads of Glen Roy.https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glen_Roy

At the time I thought it was fascinating, my little sister was less than impressed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.