A Landscape of Layers

Dear Diary,

Yesterday's photograph brought to mind this landscape on South Uist in the Western Isles of Scotland.  I have been thinking a lot about Scotland lately for some reason.  This image epitomizes the Outer Hebrides for me.  The treeless landscape, the changeable skies, the machair and the lochs, the dark ocean and white sheep all combine to create a multi-layered sense of place.

Those who reject or can't comprehend abstraction simply fail to see the abstract qualities that exist all around us.  Once I truly understood that my love of the abstract image increased.  I've also included another South Uist landscape as my extra image.

Looking back at older images is something I enjoy doing because the eyes that originally saw that landscape are not the eyes I see with today.  Our perceptions evolve over time and so does how we express ourselves through our camera work.  Anything else is stagnation.

Change the way you look at things and the things you look at change.      - Wayne W. Dyer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.