Heartbroken

Dear Diary,

My dear Dotty suffered a massive stroke yesterday and she passed away this morning about 5:30 am. When I visited her on Wednesday she had talked about her life. She felt she had had a good one and she was very content. That is very comforting to me and I told her daughter that when she called me with the news.

I am so thankful for all our Wednesday visits over the last several months. She was an amazing woman, very much a mother figure to me, and we shared so much. I will cherish the memories during the days ahead which will be difficult I'm sure. My cousin Mary called a couple of hours before Patty called. She said she was coming for a visit on Thursday. The strange thing is that she came here when Dotty's son died six years ago. It will be good to have her calm presence at this time.

So, I guess the omen was right. On September 7th one of my blue jays flew into the window and killed itself. Now, my dear, beloved Dotty is gone. I'm feeling a bit stunned really but it was her time. She had wanted to die at home in the bed she was born in and her daughter said that she really had. The EMT's revived her on the way to the hospital and life support kept her alive but in the end her daughter felt her mother wouldn't want this and they removed the tubes. Rest in peace my dear friend...you will be greatly missed.

The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time. ~Author unknown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.