Fallen Leaves

Dear Diary,

I really wondered if I would have something to post today.  If I could see something to inspire me after the heartbreaking news yesterday.  I glanced out my window and saw this bright yellow leaf glowing against all the brown ones in my front yard and I knew that this was it.

Dotty was one of the "greatest generation".  She knew the Depression and World War II and she carried on with strength and dignity.  Every year fewer and fewer of that generation are still alive.  We should look at them for inspiration as we battle our own tough times.  Although she was of my mother's generation, she was so like my grandmother.  Perhaps that's what was at the root of our closeness.

I feel much honored this morning to have known Dotty for 20 years.  I learned from her and enjoyed her many stories and cried with her when she lost her son and husband.  I will take those memories with me now and like that generation I will carry on.  I just hope I can do it with as much strength and dignity as they did.

Thank all of you for your heartfelt condolences yesterday.  It really helped.  I think you all know my dear Dotty through this journal and she was amused that I talked about her here.  She couldn't think what I could possibly have to say about her.  If she only knew...  I've added a photograph of her lovely hands at rest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.