Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

The end

I set the clock early so as the make the most of my last day in Gran Canaria. A quick breakfast, some preliminary packing, sun lotion application (yes, it was a glorious morning), then over to what we'd come to refer to as Pool No. 3 for a few hours lounging and splashing around in the shallow end.

A shower, then over to the Yumbo Centre for one last time for lunch and a few wee drinkies. My airport pickup was scheduled for 4:26 pm (a strangely precise time, but it turned out that the driver had several pickups to make before getting onto the highway), so I tossed back my G&T and went back for final packing and the return of the key. Pickup was bang on time, and we made it to the airport with ages to spare before my 7:30 flight.

Carl had texted me on Tuesday to tell me about a smoking area in the Departures area with a view over the runways, so that's where I went to while away the time before going for boarding. Our Ryanair flight was called to board ahead of time, but shouldn't have been, as we were left standing in line for twenty minutes before there was any movement, and then it was ridiculously slow getting onto the plane.

I'd prepared for the flight with a couple of iTunes movie rentals, which kept me amused for most of the four-and-a-half-hour flight. The Imitation Game was excellent, but Shaun the Sheep was disappointing. The taxi home cost €20 ( so much more expensive than taxis in GC), and I opened my hall door at 12:50 am.

Another relaxing stay in 'the' bungalow. Thanks to Martin for making it available. Now, here's to next year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.