The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Pontyclun v Llantrisant - The Big Clash!

The rugby season started last weekend, but both Pontypridd and Pontyclun were away, and we were up to our eyeballs in stuff, so we couldn't go.

For those of you that are not aware, my wife recently become treasurer of Pontyclun Rugby Club so I've been spending quite a bit of time down there of late.

The first home game at Windsor Fields was against our local rivals Llantrisant. It was the first time the teams had clashed in a league fixture. So there was huge anticipation around the match. I must admit I hadn't had this buzz about a game of rugby since the BIC Cup Quarter Final last season.

We got down there early to help out. There was always going to be a big crowd as the Black Army are fairly numerous. The weather was also very kind to us.

And so at half past two the game kicked off, and it was a fairly close affair. Llantrisant in the ascendency for the first quarter, but Pontyclun fighting back in the second. There was a try a piece, and the difference between the sides was a single point, with Llan kicking their conversion, and The Badgers missing theirs but getting a penalty. 8-7 to the home side at half time.

The referee got some treatment at half time, nobody really thought much of it. The second half kicked off and it was quickly apparent we had a problem. The ref has pulled a muscle. At this lower level rugby there is no standby official. So just two minutes in the game had to be called off. Which was a real shame, but these things happen.

I did manage to get a decent number of photos in the first half, which I have put in this Flickr set. I'm rather chuffed with them, and even more chuffed by the number of views they got. I managed 12,000+ hits after I uploaded them. Way beyond anything I have ever achieved before.

We stayed and had a few beers, and a chat to loads of people. It was a fantastic afternoon despite the lack of result.

I made a promise at the end of last season that I was going to do more grassroots rugby. I have tired of the endless politics. I will still be going down to Sardis Road. The handy thing with being the PontyCyclops it still works with both clubs!

For the first time in a while I am really looking forward to this season, and we have a World Cup to boot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.