The Langdales

I’ve had another one of those special days today.  But I have to say, it was a bit of an effort!

I woke up to my alarm this morning after tucking Little Dog up in her blanket a couple of times in the early hours because it was chilly.  On looking out of the window, it seemed a touch overcast and I was feeling distinctly sleepy so I snoozed for a while longer.

I geed myself up and got the kettle on, heating on and breakfast sorted for both of us in that order and got back into bed.  I was starting to come round and I could see that there was actually a clearing sky.

Once I was out of the door and watching the glorious morning unfold in front of me, it took little time to wake up.  A fluffy pink cloud gliding by, Crinkle Crags catching the first pink light of the morning and the cloud gently cascading over the front.  Perfect.

I headed on up towards Pike of Blisco but turned right to pick up the path towards the Crinkles.  A few wild campers was all I saw and the light was still spectacular with more drifting cloud building up out of the valleys.  I didn’t half feel tired though.

I just took it steady.  Half way over Cringle Crags, I met a bloke coming the other way who had been up on top since 4.30am to watch the dawn - he definitely had a planet feeling and I could imagine the cloud when he described it as a waterfall next to him dripping over the edge of the mountain.  
With the cloud wisping in and out and the sun shining, I was keeping an eye out for brocken spectres and sure enough, I found a couple not far apart - quite hard to spot at first but just as I was about to head off again, the brightest of the bright began to glow for just a few seconds.

I had planned on going over Bowfell (and more) which was clear until I got to the turning for The Band but I wasn’t really feeling like it so I was pleased that the cloud came right down to the col at just the right moment for me to make up my mind.  We headed down and enjoyed more of the clouds drifting over the ridge.

Home now and Rich seems to be full of lethargy today too and shortened his bike ride so I’m wondering if we’re just on the edge of a cold.  We’re going out for a healthy dinner now to ward it off.  

Great excuse!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.