Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

View from the Baltic Centre

I went to Newcastle today to meet up with my schoolfriend K who had come from Leeds. We last met up in Durham, which I've found through Blip was four whole years ago.

We had great weather as you can see, and spent most of the time on the Quayside. The bridge in the foreground is the Millennium Bridge, a pedestrian bridge which tilts (or blinks) to let boats/ships pass under it. We saw it blink twice, once close to, and the other from a distance. However, I liked this view from the Baltic Centre better which includes some of the other bridges over the Tyne. It looks better large.

The train journey was very enjoyable too, with good views of the coast in both directions. It was also memorable as I travelled first class - the first time I had actually booked to do so (think I may have ended up in first class a couple of times when second class was full to bursting). This was thanks to my recently acquired senior railcard. If you took the free food into consideration, it was about the same price as second class, and a lot more comfortable. So another reason to recommend turning sixty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.