To Health

"Surround yourself with fitness minded people. Good health is contagious."

Two weeks ago, I learned that there is a monthly marathon is held every third Sunday at Mukogawa - that is, the Muko River, just twenty minutes walk from my flat. No registration is required to take part, just turn up at 0900, sign in, pay Y500 and run your chosen distance - 5, 20, 30 or 42 kilometers.

I chose to go for the full marathon. Unfortunately, I didn't make it. I pulled out at thirty kilometers. I don't feel bad about it, though, because several factors were against me. One, I am still recovering from a cold and my sinuses were playing me up. Two, it was hotter than I am used to. Marathons in Japan are usually held between October and March. Three, the route was boring, running up and down a two and a half kilometer strip. Without cheering crowds or the promise of a medal, a T-shirt, a finisher's towel or a certificate, I found that demotivating. Finally, being an amateur event, the only refreshment offered to the runners was water every five kilometers; sports drinks and energy food are a must for me when running a marathon.

Anyway, I was satisfied with three hours and fourteen minutes time for thirty kilometers. That was on track for an average time for me. I am sure that when I run in the Osaka Marathon on October 25th, I will do much better.

Some fit, and some not so fit, people doing good. I was there, running a half marathon at Goodwood. Did you take part in Sport Aid?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.