Reading material

The end of the birthday and festival season gives me an opportunity to review the books I've acquired in the last month or so. I do not to try too many physical books these days, but it's hard to resist.

From top to bottom we have: three books I acquired as a result of doing some reviewing for CUP, including a biography written by someone I know better for working on international trade law, an interesting provocation from one of the UK's leading academic feminists, and a book about Europe I guess I should read...; a birthday present from I with whom I had dinner on Tuesday; the most recent book from a Bosnian/American writer whom we went to see at the Festival; a first novel by a colleague who used to work on my project which is receiving good reviews; the book from the last book club, which I missed, but which I fancy reading after they said how much they enjoyed it; the next book club book; and at the bottom a birthday present from Mr A - it's an academic book about political parties, but more than that. A very prescient analysis of politics today, written by someone who died nearly 5 years ago and posthumously published.

I hope it doesn't take me the whole year to read them!

A second day of feeling really bleurgh. I'm not going out. I'm going to plonk myself in front of the TV and watch sport.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.