Sun lit

What a hectic few days. At least I got back on Wednesday in time for a birthday drink, but then it was straight into a busy referendum day, which didn't end until 3.45am when we crawled into bed. Meanwhile, we'd had dinner in town with some work-shoppers who had arrived for a workshop on Friday and Saturday (or referendum tourism depending upon your point of view), and spent some time at the university's equivalent to a 'count party', down at The Hub. By early on, it was pretty clear what the result was going to be, and this resulted in a strangely low key evening, when I had fully expected everything to be on a knife edge.

On Friday, I crawled out of bed in time to read the papers online, do some stuff on social media, and try to gather my thoughts for my presentation, before we started the workshop at 12 noon. It was straight from there to the pub, to dinner at the Timberyard and home in time to crawl into bed again just before midnight. I slept the righteous sleep of the dead for about six hours, but was up again just after 7am as we were starting work again at 10am today, and I had to be there in time "receive" the catering. "There" was my usual place of work, and I pitched up a doing a fair impression of a drowned rat, having cycled in through some pretty impressive mizzle and haar. But as forecast, the day has improved as we went along, and when I finally exited from work, having packed the rest of them off to the pub before they turn up here (home) for a buffet supper in an hour or so, the first thing that caught my eye was one of our Japanese anenomes, catching the last of the sunlight in the square/yard in front of the building. Lovely.

I hope I don't fall asleep this evening and disgrace myself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.