The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Don't touch me

This is the caterpillar of the pale tussock moth.  Most moth caterpillars have a strategy of being cryptic and inconspicuous to avoid being found by birds and other predators.  This one advertises itself with bright colours and hairs and spines that wouldn't look out of place on a tropical reef if they belonged to a sea cucumber.  No bird would make the mistake of trying to eat one of these more than once, the hairs are intensely irritating.  

I found it amongst the Wisteria that I was trimming on the south-facing side of the house.  I knew what it was, though I must say I wasn't aware it had a reputation - though looking at the colour and hairs like cactus spines made me think this was something only to be picked up with gloves on.  I'm glad I did.

When I was frequently moth-trapping in the garden, I often used to catch the adults in May and June.  They are instantly recognisable by their size, shape, and very furry front legs that project forwards.  And as an adult it goes in for crypsis rather than deterrence, and I wouldn't have suspected it then as having a poisonous caterpillar.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.