September Dawn

A long day. As it looked like today was going to be the last of the current spell of good weather, I thought I should make the most of it, so I was up before dawn and went up to a nearby vantage point to catch the sunrise. This provided my Blip for today. Soon after, I came across a large flock of Linnets feeding in a harvested oilseed rape field and watched as they rose and fell in and out of the field. Then I drove up to the moorland and had a pleasant walk amidst the heather and Grouse: it was simply glorious - I love having the moors to myself! Then I came home and settled in to making some jam with damsons from next door's tree. I love the sharp, rich taste of damsons, so it's worth making the effort. Later, I spotted a fairly rare visitor to our garden - a Siskin, and as I watched, 2 more arrived. This story has a sad ending, as when Mr PB went out to water the plants, he found a dead one on the lawn. No idea what the cause was, as it looked undamaged. I have no way of knowing if it was the one in my extra photo for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.