Twitching for Fungi

A couple of days ago, my friend Roger asked for an ID on a fungus he'd found and photographed while out walking. I was pretty sure it was Amanita ceciliae, Snakeskin Grisette, even though I'd never seen one, as it fitted the description in the book so well. It was confirmed by an expert. My friend was kind enough to give me  a grid reference so I could go and see them for myself - there were several fruiting bodies at this one spot. They were right next to the path, and even when he saw them, they had taken a bit of a kicking. There was one that was just emerging, (main photo), and one that had survived the worst of the onslaught (extra), showing the patterned stem from which it gets its common name. I thought it only fair to include a Chicken of the Woods - Laetiporus sulphureus which I found nearby in extras too, by way of comparison to yesterday's Hen of the Woods.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.