Happy Birthday, Little Bro

I was seven years old when you were born, and not particularly pleased about it….
But then I had a dream that you were dying, and was so relieved when I woke up and realized it was only a dream…
You were just a little kid when I got married…
And I was a mother when you were traveling in Europe after high school... And not exactly to the capitals of culture, if you know what I mean….
We lived in Edinburgh when you got married the first time…
But when we got back, our paths began to cross on a more regular basis.
You were no longer the annoying little brother.
And I was no longer the overbearing big sister.
We made it to your second wedding.
We became friends.
I always knew that if I needed you, you would come.
And you learned to ask me for help.
We both learned that when you are family, you never have to say thank you.
It was understood.
Today is your birthday and I wish you nothing but the best.
I hope that our "field of dreams" one day becomes a reality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.