Mono Monday : : Grunge

I rather grandly thought when I saw the topic for today's challenge that I was above it all. Apparently not….

I've given up the battle with the bugs.I step on them whenever I have the chance and tour the house on a regular basis with a long handled duster knocking down spider webs. I thought I had reached détente with the Daddy Longlegs, because they eat mosquitoes, but after one bit me when I was carrying it outside, I have no mercy in that quarter either. 

The bugs have their own agendas. Moths flutter and flap around the light of my iPad as I read at night. I pull ticks off the dogs and silverfish off my clothes. Mosquitoes drive me spare with their whining. I plead with OilMan to close the screen doors, but he seems to have a genetic inability to close anything. I'm turning into a madwoman with a fly swatter. a nutter with a broom, a lunatic with a vacuum cleaner.

OilMan is my raving counterpart in the garden as he wages war on the rats, voles and gophers. He's tried everything from poison to bombs. If he owned a gun, I would fully expect to find him sitting next to a gopher hole with it. Although he is a ratter and digs furiously, Rudy is useless and probably wouldn't know what to do with a rodent if  he did catch one. The neighbors' cats don't seem to do much better.

But I still thought I was above grunge until I came apron this collection in the bottom of an onyx lamp in our living room. At least they're all dead….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.