MONO MONDAY - GRUNGE

Grunge : grime, dirt

When I saw that the challenge for today was “grunge” I knew it wouldn’t be difficult finding something, but the question was what would look the best in black and white?

I wandered around the garden, which is always a good place for me to start - well you didn’t honestly think that I would find any grunge in the house, did you? 

There are lots of different places that we have grunge in our garden and this little birdbath is one that is constantly grunged.  The pigeons love to get in there and have a bath and sometimes an odd blackbird or sparrow, but the little birds know better and keep away from this grungy water.  What with bird droppings and leaves from the trees above, the water is not very nice, although we do change it quite often, so they can have a decent bath.

I met Lucy, the 9 year old daughter of a friend yesterday, and when she introduced me to her friend, Beccy, I told her she could call me “Mad Maureen” - whereupon Lucy said “That’s alliteration.”  

I then asked them if they knew what onomatopoeia meant - Beccy was almost right - onomatopoeia is a word whose sound imitates or suggests its meaning.  I think GRUNGE comes into this category!  Must remember to tell Lucy and Beccy when I next see them.

People are like dirt. 
They can either nourish you 
     and help you grow as a person 
          or they can stunt your growth 
               and make you wilt and die.
Plato   
(427-347 B.C.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.