Where I Ate My Lunch

This is a structure on Warwick University Campus hard by a roundabout that hosted a magnificent display of wild flowers. I went there to take photos in the lunch hour whilst at the RPS Digital Imaging Group day. I enjoyed a quiet 10 minutes in the sun while eating my sandwich.

Keynote Speakers were Joe Cornish, Steve Caplin and Eddie Ephraums. I got the impression that Joe and Eddie were virtually retired. They did their memorable work in the 1980s and 1990s, just before digital came in.

I liked Eddie's tips on staying still to get the shots to come to you and on concentrating on just one very small area to photograph in detail. He gave some good advice on preparing books, if anyone was listening. He's put together some tomes for other professional photographers.

Steve, by contrast, is THE digital manipulation man. He chose to talk about when a photo is manipulist or not. Verdict. All photographs are manipulative.

Warwick Uni campus is a nightmare to negotiate. Found my way to the meeting by finally finding an on-campus map which I could relate to the map I had on paper.

There was also NO gluten free food, even though we'd been told not to bring our own. I got the last GF sandwich at the campus grocery store.

Met Margaret and Maurice, and Maggie from the choir. Also bumped into John who I'd met in Nottingham three days ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.