Altered State

We've had a very full day of fun with GlassRoad, beginning with breakfast at Mount Bakery cafe, and followed by a walk along Whatcom Creek, which runs through the center of town. There we happened upon Glen, a keen fisherman who had just landed a small pink salmon, also called a humpback or humpy, permanently interrupting its journey back to its natal waters, and ensuring a tasty dinner for Glen this evening.

I'm still learning how to use my RX100, and didn't pay enough attention to the settings when I shot this photo, resulting in an underexposed image. I played around with some of the options in iPhoto and came up with this look that reminded me of the colors on 1950s postcards. If you'd like to see what Glen and his fish really looked like, GlassRoad captured that perfectly. Phil has an intriguing blip and two "extras" from our creekside walk.

Also on today's list of activities was sampling some beer at Elizabeth Station, lunch at La Fiamma pizza, picking up Manpies for supper, a saunter in Fairhaven that included walking the Taylor Dock boardwalk to Boulevard Park and back, a couple of other quick errands, and a surprise brief visit from tookie and Peg, our mutual friend and high school classmate.

It's nearly 10pm -- I have 14,140 steps on my Fitbit, the most I've ever had, so clearly GlassRoad will have to stay on and help me reach new heights of fitness! Alas, she leaves very early on Wednesday morning. I'm so glad that she made the long trip from Western Australia to the western United States, where she saw many of the iconic sights found in Montana with blipper MariB, and a handful of those found in this part of Washington with Phil and me.

Blip 1357

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.