Choices

I'm not taking many photos on our Portland vacation, mostly due to the heat, but I couldn't resist this classy offering that I spotted in a thrift store today. I wasn't the only one--as I made an abrupt stop and pulled my little Panasonic out, another short, white-haired woman halted suddently to admire the chapeau as well. We agreed that we both were drawn to that elegant hat and jewelry, even though we'd never worn such styles ourselves.

It was back to Kerns Kitchen for brunch today, where I enjoyed a house salad and one of their exceedingly tasty biscuits sandwiching a fried egg, cheese, and bacon, and Phil had an enormous platter of fried potatoes and scrambled eggs with sausage, onion, and more. It had a soporific effect on him, as he took a nap afterward, during which I edited progam copy for the next Whatcom Symphony concert and emailed all the changes to the designer.

In late afternoon, we walked about a mile to Cascade Brewery, arriving very hot and thirsty. Sour beers are their specialty, and after a shared flight of six two-ounce tasters, I chose an apricot sour beer to enjoy with my dinner, which included fresh pear, dried cranberries, pecans, and Bleu d'Auvergne cheese.

Home to our cottage we went via Portland's excellent bus service, with Phil showing the pleasant bus drivers our electronic tickets on his iPhone. (I had two old-fashioned paper tickets with me just in case...)

Blip 1041

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.