Tucked In

We had a very pleasant 6.5 hour train journey from Bellingham to Portland, Oregon today, arriving on a hot day (92F/33C) in our favorite metropolis. A quick taxi ride later, we were happily settling into the one-room cottage in northeast Portland where we stayed on our last two visits.

Fortunately, I had the presence of mind to take this quick iPhone shot when we arrived, as the photos I took at Kerns Kitchen, a few blocks away, and during the walk back to our cottage were not Blip-worthy. The best of that poor bunch was a photo of the best kale salad I've ever eaten -- finely chopped kale mixed with chopped dates, lemon, pine nuts, and Parmesan. My other course was a salad of perfectly cooked and seasoned white beans (cannelli beans), topped with arugula and Parmesan, and garnished with shrimp. I also tried one of the smoked deviled eggs that Phil ordered, and a bite of his spicy Sicilian shrimp, as well as enjoying a slightly bubbly Portuguese white wine, perfect for a warm summer evening. (Phil took a photo of me indicating my delight in that wine.)

Lest you think all I eat is salad, let me hasten to add that for dessert Phil and I shared a generous serving of Nutella tiramisu!

We're already planning to return to Kerns Kitchen several more times during our Portland sojourn.

Blip 1040

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.