MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Heineken Special

Well that escalated quickly..

After a long day working on spreadsheets (never fails to exhaust me) Coralie and I set out for the neighborhood churrascinha and got some deliciously tasty kebabs slathered in magic sauce and farofa. We "passed by" los putos on our way to the açaíteria :P and ended up going out to the local bar for a Heineken Special- buy 5 bottles of Heineken, get a free Heineken glass. Needless to say, we drank way too much. But I think the 7 of us got 4 glasses by the end of the night!

Thought this picture was really representative of a majority of the hang-outs in Brazil. Plastic table and chairs, out on the street, with your communal beer bottles and small cups for everyone. This week has been a long chain of "wow Brazil is wonderful." "Why am I leaving?" "I really just want to finish my PhD" "Am I really going back to the States" "When can I return to Brazil?" "I love it here so much." "Let's get that PhD over with already" "Why, again, would I ever leave Brazil?" And tonight was no exception, sitting, chatting, drinking, and laughing with some great Brazilians (and a great Francesa tb).

I have a feeling there will be a lot more reflective thought this week than usual. Reflective thought and daydreaming about the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.