The Edward Street Bakery

I was hoping to have a more relaxing, recuperative day today but it didn't turn out that way. It was up and down and all over the bloody place. I did manage to find just enough time to pop over to Saltaire to see the Edward Street Bakery in action. The weekend was a huge success for them. Vast quantities of cakes and pizzas have been baked, sold and consumed with relish. Lisa and Jez (who you will possibly remember here) baked and cooked up a storm. I ran out of superlatives a long time ago as far as their food is concerned. I've never ever tasted anything as good.

I really admire these guys for their passion for good food and the incredible hard work they put in. I also love the way they collaborate with other small local businesses, all helping each other to pull themselves up by their bootstraps. The Northern Monk Brewery were in residence at the Bakery (which is actually Lisa and Jez's front room!), serving some great beers that I'd not come across before. I will certainly be trying more. I enjoyed a fascinating discussion with their head brewer (the guy on the right) about the art of brewing. And it certainly is an art. He did give me a warning, though, that there is a serious worldwide hops shortage at the moment, part caused by the huge success of the craft beer business. Sourcing the specific hops required for each particular beer is getting more difficult.

My pictures were received very well and someone was after buying some prints from me. It feels strange to me to have to put a price on a photograph I've taken. I really have no idea as to what to suggest. Anyone else ever been in this position?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.