The Miracle Kitchen

... where the most miraculous food is created

This is my little home from home in Shipley, the Health Food Store, home to Creative Breads, where I seem to hang out at the counter here for longer and longer each day, delaying as much as possible my return to the office. I call it the Miracle Kitchen because what Jez and Lisa create here, in terms of both quality and quantity, is truly a miracle. When they first opened I suspected that through the door on the left was this huge working space occupied by a whole team of people, preparing and cooking and cleaning ... but, no, that door leads to a space not much bigger than a cupboard, and there aren't any other people helping - even if there was room for them.

They produce all their food in a space about the size of an average domestic kitchen, and that requires great planning and organisation. I am genuinely in awe of these two delightful people, for their incredibly hard work and, of course, their talent. I love chatting to them at lunchtime because of their passion for what they do. I usually don't turn up until well after the lunchtime rush, by which point the counter is often turned over to preparation for the next day. We talked about this wonderful KitchenAid Mixer today, so old that Jez couldn't remember how many years service it had done - which is pretty amazing considering the extensive use it gets every single day. And there are not many places where as a customer you have the chance to lick out the bowl!

It has rained pretty much all day - which I've quite enjoyed really because I've been working pretty much all day ... and night. Home very late after a major update on one of our systems. There have been a few issues and I'm not quite there yet. I'm going to have to go in on the first train tomorrow to sort the last few things out. Having sorted my blip out on the train home I'm posting and collapsing in a heap!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.